Zoho Projects Profiles

A user’s profile determines the level of access within the organization. Zoho Projects classifies profiles into two categories.

Two Profiles

  • User Profile: These profiles are assigned to portal users. Users in this profile can access modules with both internal and external flag.
  • Client Profile: These profiles are assigned to client users. Users in this profile can only access modules with an external flag.

Benefits

  • Create custom profiles and set access privileges
  • Set different permissions for portal users and client users
  • Customize permissions at module level
  • Clone profiles

Profiles can be created and customized to define permission sets and assign them to a particular group of users based on their role. Profiles can be configured by the Portal Owner and any user can be given the relevant permission to create and customize profiles. We also have some default profiles to get you started.

Create a New Profile

  • Click in the top navigation panel.
  • Navigate to Manage Users > Profiles and Roles.
  • Click Profiles in the left panel.
  • Click Add Profile to create a new profile.
  • Enter profile Name.
  • Select if the profile is a client or project user.
  • Enable permissions for portal, projects, and individual modules.
  • Click Add to save the new profile.

Client Profiles

Users having client profile can be granted limited access at a project level. Client profile users will not have portal level permissions. At a project level, client users can be granted access to external forums, pages, and events. At a module level, they will have access to

  • Milestones
  • Task Lists
  • Tasks
  • Issues
  • Documents

Edit a Profile

Profiles except the Admin and Client can be edited

  • Click in the top navigation panel.
  • Navigate to Manage Users > Profiles and Roles.
  • Click Profiles in the left panel.
  • Hover over a profile and click
  • Enable or disable permissions.
  • Click Update to save your changes.

Clone a Profile

If your organization requires profiles which need modified permission sets; you can clone an existing profile and make the necessary changes

  • Click in the top navigation panel.
  • Navigate to Manage Users > Profiles and Roles.
  • Click Profiles in the left panel.
  • Hover over a profile and click
  • Enable the required permissions
  • Click Add to save as a new profile

Delete a Profile

The Kanban board helps you organize all your tasks as cards in different columns. These columns are based on different task criteria such as percentage completion or priority. Simply drag and drop tasks between columns to update its status quickly.

  • Click in the top navigation panel.
  • Navigate to Manage Users > Profiles and Roles.
  • Click Profiles in the left panel.
  • Hover over a profile and click
  • Click Delete to save your changes.