How to use the Delete, and Change Customers Utility in Sage 100

Description

How to use the Delete and Change Customers to delete customer records, renumber them, or merge multiple customer records into a single customer number.

Disclaimer

Use caution when working with the below product functionality. Always create a backup of your data before proceeding with advanced solutions. 

Resolution

**NOTE: Prior to using the Delete and Change Customers utility, update all data entry file registers in Accounts Receivable, Sales Order, Return Merchandise modules.

Considerations:

  • Changing the customer’s division may affect the primary salesperson in open data entry files such as repetitive invoices and sales orders. The assigned salesperson may be invalid.
  • The buttons at the bottom of the window (‘Save’, ‘Clear’, ‘Delayed’, and so forth) affects all selections on both the ‘Delete’ and ‘Change’ tabs.
  • The buttons at the right of the grid (such as ‘Resolve Wildcards’) affect selected records. Click the ‘Resolve Wildcards’ button to display all records in a selection, if wildcards or ranges are used. This option allows the ability to edit or remove each record in the selection.

Delete Customers:

  1. Click on Accounts Receivable, Utilities, Delete and Change Customers.
  2. Click on the Delete tab.
  3. Enter or select the Starting Customer No and Ending Customer No. (All records within the range are affected.)
  4. Click Select Files Icon.
  5. Deselect All Files Associated with Customer to Select Individual Files. Select Ok. See Related Resources ‘Files Affected by Delete and Change Customers Utility.’
  6. Click Proceed
  7. Click Yes, then Print or Preview to print a Delete and Change Customer Log.
  8. Click No to return to the ‘Delete and Change’ window for editing.
  9. Click Yes to proceed to the next step.
  10. Click Yes or No when prompted to print the Delete and Change Customer Log.
  11. If Yes is clicked, click Print or Preview to review the log for selections and validations that may prohibit the process from continuing.
    • Select one of the following options at the ‘All selections will be cleared. Do you wish to continue?’ prompt. Click Yes to clear selections and close the utility. Click No to close the utility without posting the changes. The changes are still selected within the utility.
    • If No, is selected, return to the Delete and Change Customers task to Clear the selections or modify the restriction.

Change Customers:

This will bring over all History, Invoices etc… The contacts and the credit cards too.

  • if the new customer number already exists, the selected customer or range of customer is merged into the new number.
  • If the new customer number does not exist:
    • If the new customer is specific (without wildcards), the first customer number in the range is renamed to the new customer number. All other customers in the range are then merged into the customer number.
    • If the new customer number includes wildcards, and the division number does not change, each customer in the range is renumbered to a specific customer number.
    • If the new customer number includes wildcards, and the division number is changed, all customers in the range are renumbered to the new division number and retain their original customer numbers.
  1. Click on Accounts Receivable, Utilities, Delete and Change Customers.
  2. Click on the Change tab.
  3. Enter or select the Starting Customer No and Ending Customer No. (All records within the range are affected.)
  4. Enter or select New Customer No.
  5. Click Proceed
  6. Click Yes, then Print or Preview to print a Delete and Change Customer Log.
  7. Click No to return to the ‘Delete and Change’ window for editing.
  8. Click Yes to proceed to the next step.
  9. Click Yes or No when prompted to print the Delete and Change Customer Log.
  10. If Yes is clicked, click Print or Preview to review the log for selections and validations that may prohibit the process from continuing.
    1. Select one of the following options at the “All Selections will be cleared. Do you wish to continue>” prompt. Click Yes to clear selections and close the utility. Click No to close the utility without posting the changes. The changes are still selected within the utility.
    2. If No, is selected, return to the Delete and Change Customers task to clear the selections or modify the restriction.

Support

If necessary, seek the assistance of Acute Data Systems to help provide assistance with this process.